Two buildings, one destination. That’s what’s going on at 88 & 90 Lexington Avenue, between East 27th and 26th streets in Manhattan’s Gramercy area. Two buildings – 88 Lexington Avenue, built in 1927, and 90 Lexington Avenue, built in 1958 – are being converted into luxury condominiums by HFZ Capital Group, with workshop/apd as designer. We stepped inside last week to see how the conversion is going.
In December, Toll Brothers picked up the headquarters for United Cerebral Palsy of New York City for $135 million. Now the Pennsylvania-based developer has filed applications to erect an 18-story residential building on the site between Park and Lexington Avenues.
When Ben Shaoul’s Magnum Real Estate Group shelled out $270 million for two luxury rental buildings in the Upper East Side and Gramercy last year, it was only a matter of time until they became condos. Now construction is moving along at 385 First Avenue in Gramercy, and the property has a teaser site and a new name: Luminaire.
In March, YIMBY revealed renderings of the four-building, 223-unit condominium redevelopment of Cabrini Medical Center, in Gramercy. Now, developers Chetrit Group and Clipper Equity have closed on a $345.5 million loan for the project, according to Commercial Observer. Dubbed Gramercy Square, three medical buildings will be converted, and a fourth building will be constructed ground-up. Also planned is a 25,000 square-foot court yard, designed by M. Paul Friedberg and Partners; Woods Bagot is the project’s design architect. Completion is expected in 2016.
Apex Real Estate Investments recently purchased the properties spanning 257-259 3rd Avenue, in Gramercy, expanding an assemblage that now includes 253-261 3rd Avenue. Now Alfa Development is in contract to acquire the development site for $69.6 million. Condominiums are most likely planned for the site, which boasts roughly 90,000 square feet of building potential. Demolition permits were filed in 2014 for the three-story building at Nos. 253-255, although none are on file for the three- and five-story buildings at Nos. 257-261.